Our Mission

Who We Are

Big Medium is a non-profit organization dedicated to championing and cultivating artists and the contemporary arts in Austin and across Texas. By providing city and state-wide programming, affordable studio spaces, innovative exhibitions, and professional development opportunities for artists, Big Medium works to foster the arts, empower artists, and facilitate an inclusive cultural dialogue between artists and their communities.

What We Do

Big Medium produces the West Austin Studio Tour, the East Austin Studio Tour, the Texas Biennial, and the Big Medium Gallery. We provide additional opportunities for artists through the Tito’s Prize, the LINE Residency, and our international exchange program. We also provide studio space to artists at Canopy and umbrella artists through our Sponsored Projects program. Our newest program, Creative Standard, offers professional development workshops, presentations, and resources to support local artists at any stage of their career.


Since its inception in 2007, Big Medium has been dedicated to supporting the contemporary arts and artists in Texas. The organization’s official formation as a nonprofit began to take root years prior, when Austin artists Shea Little, Jana Swec, and Joseph Phillips began practicing art in collaboration at Bolm Studios in 2002, and soon found themselves in dialogue with fellow artists in the surrounding East Austin community. Through engaging in their local arts community at the grassroots level, the group saw an opportunity to help support the wide spectrum of artists seeking a platform to share their work and creative practices with each other and an audience at large. Through this desire for connectivity and exchange, the East Austin Studio Tour was formed with just 28 studios in 2003. In its eighteenth edition in 2019, EAST has grown to host over 500 artist participants and 50,000 attendees each year.


Our Team


Shea Little
Executive Director

Rachael Garbowski
Director of Development

Jordan Gentry
Director of Programming

Paloma Mayorga
Development Coordinator

Coka Treviño
Programming Coordinator

Christina Moser

Akki Brathwaite
Event and Rental Coordinator

Board of Directors

Sewah Archer

Robert Boland
Board Chair

Chris Cobb

Courtney DiSabato

Ann Flemings

Shawna Hills

Jon Lawrence

Shea Little
Ex Officio

Joseph Phillips

Janine Sisak

Jana Swec

Aaron Weiss


Inés Batlló
International Exchange Advisor

Aidan Cho
Branding Advisor and Cultural Ambassador

Anwuli Chukwurah
Financial Consultant

Joseph Pagano
Digital Strategy Consultant